Just 3 Points.

As a mad Liverpool fan, of course I’m excited for the new season. We’ve made some good signings, addressed key areas and looking like we COULD make an improvement on last year. Before going any further, I am not a pessimistic Liverpool fan, I am the other end which is why I am writing this.

I have become angry at the media, one or two managers, and a lot of the accounts I follow on Twitter (generic football accounts not Liverpool focused), talking absolute SHITE.

Why the sudden need to absolutely hammer expectation on my beloved club to win the league. I agree it’s probably our best chance before a game’s been played since probably 13/14 but the expectation to win a premier league is a huge psychological burden on our players.

Defensively yes, we will be better, we have a Goalkeeper now more dominant on set pieces and in the air, we have a defensive minded midfielder, and our defense has looked GOOD, not immense since Van Dijk came in. But the issue is, a team expected to win a league or even challenge has got a 1 or 2 in 20 chance to be “successful”

I want a different approach. Let’s approach the season thinking, let’s just get three points against West Ham, and then the week after let’s get another three and let’s see where we end up come May. Yes, Liverpool need to win the league, it’s where they belong but it doesn’t have to absolutely be this season.

I seriously think that mindless cunt Mourinho has attempted to shrug the pressure from HIS team onto Liverpool, (let’s face it, he’s not exactly confident going into the season and he’s pissed off the directors and half the dressing room.) But, do you see every pundit in the world saying Manchester United HAVE to challenge this year? No? That’s because we’ve spent a few quid more, but NET spend, we aren’t the highest spenders for quite some time. I think Mourinho has to win the league this year, or he’s no improvement on Van Gaal.

I just think that yes, we’re probably the most realistic challengers to City next season. However, let’s take it one game at a time and HOPEFULLY we can see Hendo lift it in May, but let’s say we finish second, semi finals in the Champions League, and pick up the league cup or FA Cup, I think Liverpool’s owners, players and more importantly FANS, would be happy with that as an improvement on last season.

JUST THREE POINTS BOYS, just three points.

Dan, you’ll never walk alone.

Leave a comment